DE4A – Digital Europe for All


  • ATOS Spain
  • ASA – Agency for administrative simplification – Belgium;
  • BOSA – Federal Public Service Policy & Support – Belgium;
  • TIME.LEX – Belgium;
  • EEMA – European Electronic Messaging Association – Belgium;
  • CIO Office – General Secretariat of the Government – Romania;
  • MoAI – Ministry of Internal Affairs – Romania;
  • ONRC – Oficiul National al Registrului Comertului (RO) National Trade Register Office – Romania;
  • MPTFP-SGAD – Ministerio de Política Territorial y Función Pública – Spain;
  • UJI Universitat Jaume I – Spain;
  • DIGST – Danish Agency for Digitisation, Ministry of Finance – Denmark;
  • SU – Stockholm University – Sweden;
  • SKV – Swedish Tax Agency – Skatteverket – Sweden;
  • DIGG – Agency for Digital Government – Sweden
  • IHU – International Hellenic University – Greece;
  • SI-MPA – Ministrstvo za javno upravo – Slovenia;
  • MIZŠ – Ministrstvo za izobraževanje, znanost in šport – Slovenia;
  • UM – Univerza v Mariboru – Slovenia;
  • JSI – Inštitut Jožef Štefan – Slovenia;
  • ALAL – Association of Local Authorities in Lithuania – Lithuania;
  • ISDC – Information Society Development Committee (IVPK) – Lithuania;
  • EL – Enterprise Lithuania – Lithuania;
  • SECR – Centre of Registries – Lithuania;
  • MINBZK – Ministerie van Binnenlandse Zaken en Koninkrijksrelaties / Ministry of the Interior and Kingdom Relations – Netherlands;
  • RVO Netherlands Enterprise Agency / Rijksdienst voor Ondernemend Nederland – Netherlands;
  • CTIE – Luxembourg Government IT Centre – Luksemburg;
  • AMA – Agência para a Modernização Administrativa IP /Administrative Modernization Agency – Portugal.

Problem Description

For a completely working Digital Single Market, effectively enabling the cross-border exercise by citizens and businesses of their Single Market rights, Member States must address several challenges on delivering better services.


Digital Europe for All (DE4A) effectively puts forward a new Member State-driven (Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia, Spain, and Sweden) large-scale pilot aimed at compliance with Single Digital Gateway and aligned with EU eGovernment Action Plan 2016-2020, Tallinn Declaration and EIF Implementation Strategy.

Its over-arching goal is to reinforce trust in public institutions and to unleash multiple measurable positive impacts in terms of efficiency gains and reduction of current administrative burden and costs, rooted on a Toolkit for extended semantic interoperability and on secure, privacy-preserving and trustworthy realisation of fundamental once-only, relevant-only and digital by default principles, through state-of-the-art, usable and high-quality fully online procedures accessible through the Single Digital Gateway (SDG).

DE4A will be validating a comprehensive, holistic, flexible, EU-scalable approach to develop and demonstrate the potential and benefits of securely sharing relevant-only data once-only across digital-by-default, common shared services in line with users’ expectations of giving them access to public services online and making online public services more trustworthy and secure (EU citizenship consultation of 2015).

DE4A takes the reality as its starting ground – the needs and the capacities of the Member States, ensures compliance with all relevant regulations (SDGR, GDPR, eIDAS, Services Directive, among others) as well as EU and MS strategic eGovernment and Single Market goals and aims to transform governance towards open collaboration and innovation, adaptable to depart from the variety of current environments.